Sunday, January 21, 2018

"Silent Song" - Jaci Wheeler

Genre – Young Adult, Contemporary 
Publishing Date – January 22, 2018
Page count – 285 pages
Source – Sent copy
Format – Paperback
Standalone/Series – Standalone
Rating - ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐/⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

Hello and welcome to my blog of wonders. Here you can find book reviews of books of all origins and genres. I will always be honest when it comes to reviewing any book. I try and keep my blog up to date and filled with truthful and fun reviews. So, let's get started, shall we?

This was sent to me by the author herself, so thank you very much for sending this my way. Regardless if it was sent for review, I have always been truthful on whether I liked it, loved it, disliked it, or hated it. The main reason I stay truthful is for me. What blog would I be if I lied about every book I read and reviewed? I don’t mean to hurt anyone’s feelings but this is my opinion and I am entitled to my own opinion. For the books, I have not enjoyed I would still recommend reading only because it may be a totally different experience for someone else. So, with that let's get into the review.

Silent Song follows two different people, in two different worlds. Barrett is deaf while Presley is a music fanatic. Even being so different, they build a relationship around their differences and overcome all odds. When I read the blurb I instantly knew that I needed to get my hands on this book. I personally have always wanted to learn sign language for own personal pleasure. It always intrigued me to learn how deaf individuals talk to one another. I think what made me love this book even more was the fact that it was written in ASL and not in English. What I mean by that is when Barrett is signing it isn’t written in complete sentences so you get an understanding how Barrett feels when he’s talking/signing.

It took me a bit to get the hang of how the book was written and after a few chapters, I was a pro. It was easy to understand and it definitely helped me ease my way in understanding what Barrett has to struggle with every single day. I’m not saying it as a bad struggle, but it’s something he must deal with everyday living around people who don’t sign. I can’t get over this book! It’s so cute yet so touching and heartwarming. This was my first five-star book of 2018 and I’m super thankful for getting the chance to read this before it comes out.

My favorite character would have to be Jodi only because she’s so funny and was the best friend Presley could have asked for. I did love Barrett and Presley dont get me wrong. I just found Jodis character entertaining and she definitely knows how to lighten any mood. Plus, she’s a great friend and is always there when you need her.


I cannot thank Jaci Wheeler, the author of Silent Song, enough for taking time out of her day to send me her book along with bookish goods. It was super thoughtful and I cannot wait for everyone to get on this band wagon and join the ASL community.

Saturday, October 28, 2017

"MonsterLand" - Michael Okon

Genre – YA Horror, Supernatural
Publishing Date – October 15, 2017 
Page count – 232 pages
Source – Sent copy
Format – Paperback
Standalone/Series – Series
Rating - ⭐⭐⭐/⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

Hello and welcome to my blog of wonders. Here you can find book reviews of books of all origins and genres. I will always be honest when it comes to reviewing any book. I try and keep my blog up to date and filled with truthful and fun reviews. So, let's get started, shall we?
This was sent to me by the author himself, so thank you very much for sending this my way. Regardless if it was sent for review, I have always been truthful on whether I liked it, loved it, disliked it, or hated it. The main reason I stay truthful is for myself. What blog would I be if I lied about every book I read and reviewed? I don’t mean to hurt anyone’s feelings but this is my opinion and I am entitled to my own opinion. For the books, I have not enjoyed I would still recommend reading only because it may be a totally different experience for you. So, with that let's get into the review.
This isn’t my normal kind of read and I don’t know why I picked this book. And when I say this isn’t my normal kind of read I mean I don’t typically read books dealing with the supernatural (zombies, vampires, werewolves, etc.). I planned on keeping an open mind and that’s what I did.
Welcome to Monsterland, the scariest place on earth.
When world markets are decimated by a crippling plague, philanthropist, and billionaire businessman, Vincent Konrad decides to place monsters in a theme park setting to promote education and tolerance. Copper Valley is chosen as the primary site for the park in the United States. 
                  Wyatt Baldwin, a high school senior is dying to go to the opening and when he lands special passes to the park, he and his friends are expecting the experience of a lifetime. 
After all, in a theme park where real zombies, werewolves, and vampires are the main attractions, what could possibly go wrong? “
I gave this book a 3 out of 5-star rating only because I personally didn’t feel connected with the characters or plot. I did enjoy reading and going along for the “ride”. I think this book aimed for the younger readers and not for my age range. If I were to be a couple years younger than I would have given this a 4-5 stars.
The only thing really negative I have to say about MonsterLand is in some parts of the book I felt that it was forced and you can tell someone older was writing for some of the characters. 
I enjoyed this read and I would recommend this book to anyone of the younger age and/or anyone that enjoys reading YA horror. I want to thank the author again for taking his time and sending me his book.


Wednesday, September 20, 2017

"Missing Tyler" - Tamara Palmer

Genre : Young Adult , Teen Fiction, YA Contemporary
Publishing Date : February 27, 2017
Page count : 
Source – Sent by author
Format – Paperback
Standalone/Series – Standalone
Rating - ⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️/⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️

Hello and welcome to my blog of wonders. Here you can find book reviews of books of all origins and genres. I will always be honest when it comes to reviewing any book. I try and keep my blog up to date and filled with truthful and fun reviews. So, let's get started, shall we?
           
  I was sent a copy for review purposes by the author herself, Tamara Palmer. I’ve never heard of this author before and I’m thankful I was given this opportunity. “Missing Tyler” is her debut novel that follows Katrina Carlin as she heals and copes with losing someone special. Kit has to bury her twin brother, Tyler and put her life back together. She has to learn to cope and grieve with the loss of her best friend. She finds support, love, and laughter in unexpected places. 

This book was an easy and quick read and I enjoyed watching Kit grow and cope with her loss. Kit is a strong and smart character who has learned that the world does go on when someone close to you passes on. Unlike her mother and father who can’t seem to cope with the loss of their child. Her father was probably my least favorite character in the book only because of how he treated his family in the beginning. 

I personally don’t know how I would cope if I ever lost someone that close to me. I give a lot of credit to Kit for maturing at such a young age. The story started out on a negative note and ended with such an uplifting feeling. I really enjoyed this read and I would recommend this book to anyone and everyone. I want to thank the author again for taking your time and sending me your book.



Tuesday, September 5, 2017

"When We Swing" - Kyla Ross

Genre : Erotic Thriller
Publishing Date : August 15, 2017
Page count : 
Source – Sent by author
Format – Paperback
Standalone/Series – Standalone
Rating - ⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️/⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️

            Hello and welcome to my blog of wonders. Here you can find book reviews of books of all origins and genres. I will always be honest when it comes to reviewing any book. I try and keep my blog up to date and filled with truthful and fun reviews. So, let's get started, shall we?

            This book was sent to me by the author herself, Kyla Ross. I've reviewed one of her previous works before, "
A Trinity of Wicked Tales: Jilted Love” and it was a 4 star read. When I read her previous book, I did enjoy the concept and where she took the twisted tales. But, the only negative thing I had to say about the book wasn’t even about how it was written; it was the length. So, when she reached out to me to review her newest work it was an automatic yes for me. Since I enjoyed her other work I was bound (pun intended) to enjoy this book. So it wasn’t a surprise when I fell in love with "When We Swing" 

"When We Swing" synopsis on Goodreads states “Friends have a way of breaking a person out of their comfort zone . . . Mark has always felt like an outsider. Growing up, being bullied and teased, he doubted his life would ever get better. Then he meets his new college roommate, Blain Prazzel.
            Blain is the opposite of Mark, popular and oozing a sex appeal women can’t resist. Mark would kill to live in Blain’s world and gets his chance when Blain invites him and their roommate, John Motley, to a party.
            After college, they go into business together and quickly become an overnight success. But when they each find their mates; their friendship is put to the test.
Will these women interfere with their bond or will they find a new adventure awaits each of them? Where darkness and light sing their own forbidden melody of taboo? Where words, when spoken, have the power to change their lives forever?
           
            The thing I loved most about this book was that the synopsis didn’t give away the entire plot like some books do. I was honestly surprised when I started reading this book.  I had an open mind and I enjoyed not knowing what the entire book was about. The funny thing is by time I received the book in the mail, I totally forgot what it was about.  But, the deeper I got into the book, the more intrigued I was to continue reading. I thought the characters were pretty developed for the most part. There were characters that got under my skin most of the book.

            This book had the ability to keep me on the edge of my seat from cover to cover. It had suspenseful and wtf moments throughout the book. There were no dull moments and everything flowed pretty well for the most part. There were few moments where I became lost with whether it was the past or present for a specific character. But even those small hiccups I strongly believe this is a 5 star read. Again, as I said in the beginning this is purely my own opinion. I would recommend this book to anyone who loves thrillers mixed with erotic moments.

            I want to thank you, Kyla Ross for sending me your work and believing in my opinion.   I am always thankful for any authors that sent me their work in past, as well as the future authors. This read is definitely a recommended read. Especially for someone that wants a great read and enjoys anything horror or suspense related.